I Can’t Get You Out of My Mind

If you’re a music lover like me, you’ll find that some days you just can’t seem to get rid of a tune that magically pops into your head.  You’re not always sure where it came from, but it’s there, and now you can’t get rid of it.  Know the feeling?

Right now, I can’t seem to get “summer” off of my mind, and maybe that’s why George Gershwin’s old tune of “Summertime” keeps playing in my mind.  Summertime–You know, that magical time of year for vacations, summer festivals, fairs, amusement parks, beaches, swimming, camping, rafting, fishing, dancing, and all that other fun stuff.  The myth of summer is defnitely hard to shake off if you’re working for a living, taking classes through the Virtual College, or getting bogged down with that summer time project that has to “get done” this year.  Although you’re trying your best, you just can’t help but think of past pleasant summer memories when the “the livin’ was easy.”

So–what are your favorite top 10 songs that remind you of summer? 

Some of mine from the fifties were:  Summertime, Summertime (The Jamies); Love Letters in the Sand Pat Boone); Yakety Yak (The Coasters); Summertime Blues (Eddie Cochran); Don’t be Cruel and Hound Dog (Elvis Presley); and (We’re Gonna) Rock Around the Clock (Bill Haley & His Comets).

Some of the sixties tunes I liked were: California Girls, Wouldn’t It Be Nice, and I Get Around (The Beach Boys); All You Need Is Love  and a Hard Day’s Night (The Beatles); Can’t Take My Eyes Off You (Frankie Valli); This Guy’s in Love with You (Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass); See You in September (The Happenings); Summer in the City (The Lovin’ Spoonful); Heat Wave (Martha and the Vandellas); Wipe Out (The Surfaris); The Twist (Chubby Checker); Stand By Me (Ben E. King); I Got You Babe (Sonny and Cher); Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polkadot Bikini (Brian Hyland); and The Theme from a Summer Place (Percy Faith).  

Seventies tunes that put me in that summer mood include: Summer Breeze (Seals and Crofts); Imagine (John Lennon); (They Long to Be) Close to You (The Carpenters); Summer Nights and You’re the One that I Want (John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John);  and Sealed with a Kiss (Brian Hyland).

Some of my favorite summer eighties tunes are: Kokomo (The Beach Boys); Every Breath You Take (The Police); The Loco-Motion (Kylie Minogue); Rhythm Is Gonna Get You (Gloria Estefan, The Miami Sound Machine); On the Road Again (Willie Nelson); Memory (Barbra Streisand); Private Eyes (Daryl Hall & John Oates); Against All Odds-Take a Look at Me Now (Phil Collins); Xanadu (Olivia Newton-John); The Lady in Red (Chris DeBurgh); Arthur’s Theme-Best That You Can Do (Christopher Cross); Lady (Kenny Rogers); For Your Eyes Only (Sheena Easton), and Hungry Eyes (Eric Carmen).

I could go on and on but I think you’re beginning to get the idea.  By now you’re probably beginning to hum a few tunes yourself and being the music lover that I am, I’ll probably join right in.

Hmmmmmm.  Now, where’s that project that I have to work on??????  J.A.S.

Leave a Reply

